The latest installment of the Hunger Games film franchise, Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1, won’t be out until November 21st. However, a few tracks from its star-studded soundtrack (organized by Lorde), were recently released to promote the film. These include Lorde’s Yellow Flicker Beat, and Dead Air by Scottish synthpop trio CHVRCHES.

CHVRCHES fans may recognize this tune, formerly known by its humorous working titles “Eddie Murphy”, “Richard Pryor”, and “Gene Wilder”. The song was often played at their live shows, and this is the first studio recording of it to be released. The soundtrack will also feature contributions from Kanye West, Grace Jones, Major Lazer, Bat for Lashes, and Charli XCX, among several other artists.

In the usual CHVRCHES demeanor, Dead Air has Lauren Mayberry’s sweet voice clashing with the crisp, sharp synths and beats backing the song, setting a bittersweet atmosphere. Its gloomy lyrics are also juxtaposed by the music, and the chorus set an anxious and yearnful tone, which ultimately suits the themes of the film franchise.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1 – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be released on November 17th.


  1. Stromae: Meltdown – (feat. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip, and HAIM)

  2. CHVRCHES – Dead Air

  3. Tove Lo – Scream My Name

  4. Charli XCX – Kingdom (feat. Simon Le Bon)

  5. Major Lazer – All My Love (feat. Ariana Grande)

  6. Raury – Lost Souls

  7. Lorde – Yellow Flicker Beat

  8. Tinashé – The Leap

  9. Bat for Lashes – Plan the Escape

  10. Grace Jones – Original Beast

  11. Lorde – Flicker (Kanye West Rework)

  12. XOV – Animal

  13. The Chemical Brothers – This Is Not a Game (feat. Miguel)

  14. Lorde – Ladder Song (Bright Eyes cover)

CHVRCHES - Dead Air (Audio)